east Forum 2018

27. - 29. June 2019 in San Sebastian, Spain


Dr. Eva García-Lecina and Dr. Gemma Vara. © SMT32, CIDETEC 2018

Prof Dr. I. Bakonyi, Dr. N. T. Nguyen, Prof Dr. P. Leisner. © SMT32, CIDETEC 2018

east forum 2018 was integrated in the conference SMT32 - the 32nd international conference on Surface Modification Technologies. The conference was hosted by the research institute CIDETEC with European Board Member Dr. Eva García-Lecina as one of the main organizers.

It was a successful conference with 112 presentations and more than 150 attendees from all over the world. See also www.smt32.org

One of the highlights in the programme was the prize ceremony for the Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize for Young Scientists which was awarded to Dr. Nhat Troung Nguyen, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany. The award winner then gave an invited talk on fabrication of high-activity nano-porous gold particles on TiO2 nanotube arrays for efficient photocatalytic hydrogen evolution.

The annual member meeting of east was held in connection to the conference. Every third year the executive board is elected and now it was time again. The European Board reelected the executive board and the board reappointed the sitting president, meaning that the executive board remains consisting of the following persons:

  • Prof. Dr. Peter Leisner (president)
  • Mr. Richard Arnold (vice president)
  • Prof. Dr. Evangelia (Litsa) Pavlatou
  • Dr. Wolfgang Hansal
  • Dr. Andreas Zielonka